TOPMed Projects and their Parent Studies

Filter this table to display only TOPMed Projects or Parent Studies (see definitions of both). You may also filter by types of sequencing, or use the tabs at the top to filter by start phase.

Notes:
You may encounter phs links that redirect to a dbGaP error page in the table below. If so, this is because the TOPMed dbGaP study webpages do not go live until the study accession is released.

Counts of samples released in parent study-level dbGaP accessions are available in the dbGaP methods documents for freeze4 and freeze5b.

+ denotes Other Sequencing Funding

PI(s) TOPMed Project Short Name Study Namesort descending Approx. Sample Size to be Sequenced Populations Phases Involved Type of Sequencing TOPMed Accession #
Silverman, Edwin (ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu)
COPD COPD Genetic Epidemiology of COPD 100WGS EOCOPD (ph1), 1885WGS COPDGene (ph1), 7400WGS (ph2), 1000WGS COPDGene (ph3), 800RNASeq COPDGene (ph4), 11,500Methyl COPDGene (ph5) 1000 EA and 900 AA of extremely severe, early-onset COPD patients vs extreme healthy smokers (phase 1)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Other Funding
WGS, RNASeq, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Taylor, Kent D. (ktaylor@labiomed.org)
Rotter, Jerome (jrotter@labiomed.org)
AA_CAC AA_CAC African American Coronary Artery Calcification project 1409 African American families
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Burchard, Esteban (esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu)
Williams, L. Keoki (kwillia5@hfhs.org)
ATGC ATGC Asthma Translational Genomics Collaborative 15580 WGS ph3, 3500 RNAseq ph4
  • 3
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Barnes, Kathleen (Kathleen.Barnes@UCDenver.edu)
BAGS BAGS Barbados Asthma Genetics Study 1100 African descent Barbados families with >40% of asthmatic members
  • 1
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Sankaran, Vijay (sankaran@broadinstitute.org)
Boston-Brazil_SCD Boston-Brazil_SCD Boston-Brazil Collaborative Study of Sickle Cell Disease 958
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Psaty, Bruce (psaty@u.washington.edu)
Tracy, Russell (Russell.Tracy@uvm.edu)
CHS CHS Cardiovascular Health Study 3600
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Redline, Susan (sredline1@rics.bwh.harvard.edu)
CFS CFS Cleveland Family Study 1000 African American
  • 1
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Sherman, Stephanie (ssherma@emory.edu)
DS_CHD DS_CHD Down Syndrome Associated Atrioventricular Septal Defects: New Omic Resources WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Silverman, Edwin (ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu)
ECLIPSE ECLIPSE Evaluation of COPD Longitudinally to Identify Predictive Surrogate Endpoints 2400 (ph3)
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Vasan, Ramachandran S. (vasan@bu.edu)
Cupples, L. Adrienne (adrienne@bu.edu)
FHS FHS Framingham Heart Study 4089WGS (ph1), 1861RNASeq (ph5), 3400Metab (ph5), 1900Methyl (ph5) 3 generation EA pedigrees
  • 1
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
He, Jiang (jhe@tulane.edu)
GenSalt GenSalt Genetic Epidemiology Network of Salt Sensitivity 1860
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Mathias, Rasika (rmathias@jhmi.edu)
GeneSTAR GeneSTAR Genetic Studies of Atherosclerosis Risk 1400 African American families, European families
  • 2
  • Other Funding
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Mitchell, Braxton D. (bmitchel@som.umaryland.edu)
Amish Amish Genetics of Cardiometabolic Health in the Amish 1100 Old Order Amish large extended pedigrees
  • 1
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Arnett, Donna K (donna.arnett@uky.edu)
GOLDN GOLDN Genetics of Lipid Lowering Drugs and Diet Network 967 European families
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Montgomery, Courtney (Courtney-Montgomery@omrf.org)
Sarcoidosis Sarcoidosis Genetics of Sarcoidosis in African Americans 650 African American families
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Kaplan, Robert (Robert.Kaplan@einstein.yu.edu)
North, Kari (kari_north@unc.edu)
HCHS_SOL HCHS_SOL Hispanic Community Health Study - Study of Latinos 2270
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Arnett, Donna K (donna.arnett@uky.edu)
HyperGEN_GENOA HyperGEN_GENOA Hypertension Genetic Epidemiology Network and Genetic Epidemiology Network of Arteriopathy 3161 African American families
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Ellinor, Patrick (ellinor@mgh.harvard.edu)
AFGen AFGen Identification of Common Genetic Variants for Atrial Fibrillation and PR Interval - Atrial Fibrillation Genetics Consortium 2799 AF cases all EA
  • 1
  • Other Funding
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Tishkoff, Sarah (tishkoff@pennmedicine.upenn.edu)
Africa7K Africa7K Integrative Genomic Studies of Heart and Blood Related Traits in Africans 7500DNA
  • 4
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Correa, Adolfo (acorrea@umc.edu)
Wilson, James (jgwilson2@umc.edu)
JHS JHS Jackson Heart Study 3500 African American mixed family and population based
  • 1
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Silverman, Edwin (ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu)
LTRC LTRC Lung Tissue Research Consortium 1548WGS (ph4), 1648RNASeq (ph4), 3196Methyl (ph5)
  • 4
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Loos, Ruth (ruth.loos@mssm.edu)
Kenny, Eimear (eimear.kenny@mssm.edu)
BioMe BioMe Mount Sinai BioMe Biobank 8769 CAD, 2644 COPD
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Rotter, Jerome (jrotter@labiomed.org)
Rich, Stephen (ssr4n@virginia.edu)
MESA MESA Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis 4595 multi-ethnic populations
  • 2
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Proteomics, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Konkle, Barbara (BarbaraK@BloodworksNW.org)
Johnsen, Jill (JJohnsen@uw.edu)
MLOF MLOF My Life, Our Future: Genotyping for Progress in Hemophilia 2188 (ph2), 2959 (ph3)
  • 2
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Ashley-Koch, Allison (allison.ashleykoch@duke.edu)
Telen, Marilyn (marilyn.telen@duke.edu)
OMG_SCD OMG_SCD Outcome Modifying Genes in Sickle Cell Disease 675
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Saleheen, Danish (saleheen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu)
PROMIS PROMIS Pakistan Risk of Myocardial Infarction Study 4,211 (WGS ph4), 3,750 (WGS ph+ TOPMed & CCDG co-funded) South Asian ancestry from Pakistan
  • 4
  • Other Funding
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Gelb, Bruce (bruce.gelb@mssm.edu)
Seidman, Christine (cseidman@genetics.med.harvard.edu)
PCGC_CHD PCGC_CHD Pediatric Cardiac Genomics Consortium's Congenital Heart Disease Biobank 3230WGS (ph4), 308RNASeq (ph4)
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Burchard, Esteban (esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu)
Hernandez, Ryan (ryan.hernandez@mcgill.ca)
PGX_Asthma PGX_Asthma Pharmacogenomics of Bronchodilator Response in Minority Children with Asthma 1500 500AA, 500 Puerto Rican, and 500 Mexican of extremely non-responding asthma patients.
  • 1
  • Other Funding
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Nekhai, Sergei (snekhai@Howard.edu)
PUSH_SCD PUSH_SCD Pulmonary Hypertension and the Hypoxic Response in Sickle Cell Disease 450
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Custer, Brian (BCuster@vitalant.org)
Kelly, Shannon (skelly@vitalant.org)
REDS-III_Brazil REDS-III_Brazil Recipient Epidemiology and Donor Evaluation Study-III 2809 Brazilian
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
McGarvey, Stephen (stephen_mcgarvey@brown.edu)
SAS SAS Samoan Adiposity Study 384 (ph1), 912 (ph2) Samoan
  • 1
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Blangero, John (john.blangero@utrgv.edu)
Curran, Joanne (joanne.curran@utrgv.edu)
SAFS SAFS San Antonio Family Studies 1142 Mexican American in SAFHS extended pedigrees
  • 1
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Meyers, Deborah A (dameyers@email.arizona.edu)
SARP SARP Severe Asthma Research Program 1900
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Casella, James (jcasella@jhmi.edu)
SIT SCD SIT_SCD Silent Infarction Transfusion (SIT) Sickle Cell Disease (SCD)
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Wu, Joseph (joewu@stanford.edu)
Bustamante, Carlos (cdbustam@stanford.edu), Wu, Joseph (joewu@stanford.edu)
Snyder, Michael (mpsnyder@stanford.edu)
SCVI SCVI Stanford Cardiovascular Institute iPSC Biobank Study 1500WGS, 450RNAseq
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Meyers, Deborah A (dameyers@email.arizona.edu)
SPIROMICS SPIROMICS SubPopulations and InteRmediate Outcome Measures In COPD Study 2981 WGS, 5253 RNAseq
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Rao, D.C. (rao@wustl.edu)
Chen, Yii-Der Ida (ichen@labiomed.org)
THRV THRV Taiwan Study of Hypertension using Rare Variants 2585 Taiwan Chinese families
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Seidman, Jonathan (seidman@genetics.med.harvard.edu)
Seidman, Christine (cseidman@genetics.med.harvard.edu)
UNID_CM UNID_CM The Genetic Causes of Unexplained Cardiomyopathies 1050WGS, 400RNAseq
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Weiss, Scott (scott.weiss@channing.harvard.edu)
CRA_CAMP CRA_CAMP The Genetic Epidemiology of Asthma in Costa Rica and the Childhood Asthma Management Program 1300WGS (ph1), 5319WGS (ph3), 3000Metab (ph5), 3000Methyl (ph5) Costa Rica is a Special Hispanic population with asthma prevalence at 24%
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5
WGS, Metabolomics, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Boerwinkle, Eric (Eric.Boerwinkle@uth.tmc.edu)
Sheehan, Vivien (vsheehan@bcm.edu)
PharmHU PharmHU The Pharmacogenomics of Hydroxyurea in Sickle Cell Disease 1454
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Taylor, Matthew (matthew.taylor@ucdenver.edu)
Mestroni, Luisa (luisa.mestroni@ucdenver.edu), Taylor, Matthew (matthew.taylor@ucdenver.edu)
Graw, Sharon (sharon.graw@ucdenver.edu)
TOPCHeF TOPCHeF Trans-Omics for Precision Medicine for Congestive Heart Failure 1078RNASeq, 1078WGS
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Gladwin, Mark (gladwinmt@upmc.edu)
Zhang, Yingze (zhanyx@UPMC.EDU)
walk_PHaSST walk_PHaSST Treatment of Pulmonary Hypertension and Sickle Cell Disease with Sildenafil Therapy 597
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Boerwinkle, Eric (Eric.Boerwinkle@uth.tmc.edu)
VTE VTE Venous Thromboembolism project 6000
  • 2
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Fornage, Myriam (Myriam.Fornage@uth.tmc.edu)
CARDIA CARDIA Whole Genome Sequence Analysis in Early Cerebral Small Vessel Disease 3622WGS (ph3), 9480Methyl (ph5)
  • 3
  • 5
WGS, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Schwartz, David (David.Schwartz@ucdenver.edu)
Fingerlin, Tasha (fingerlint@njhealth.org)
IPF IPF Whole Genome Sequencing in Familial and Sporadic Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis 1500
  • 3
WGS Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.
Kooperberg, Charles (clk@fredhutch.org)
Reiner, Alex (apreiner@uw.edu)
WHI WHI Women's Health Intiative 11,100WGS, 1400RNAseq (ph4), 1400Metab (ph5), 1400Methyl (ph5)
  • 2
  • 4
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Methylomics Please see this TOPMed Project's Parent Studies.