TOPMed Projects and their Parent Studies

Filter this table to display only TOPMed Projects or Parent Studies (see definitions of both). You may also filter by types of sequencing, or use the tabs at the top to filter by start phase.

Notes:
You may encounter phs links that redirect to a dbGaP error page in the table below. If so, this is because the TOPMed dbGaP study webpages do not go live until the study accession is released.

Counts of samples released in parent study-level dbGaP accessions are available in the dbGaP methods documents for freeze4 and freeze5b.

+ denotes Other Sequencing Funding

PI(s) TOPMed Project Short Name Study Name Approx. Sample Size to be Sequenced Populationssort descending Phases Involved Type of Sequencing TOPMed Accession #
"Kooperberg, Charles" <clk@fredhutch.org>;
"Reiner, Alex" <apreiner@uw.edu>
WHI WHI Women's Health Initiative 11,100WGS, 1400RNA (ph4), 1400Metab (ph5), 1400Methyl (ph5)
  • 2
  • 4
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Methylomics phs001237
"Casella, James" <jcasella@jhmi.edu>;
SIT SCD SIT_SCD Silent Infarction Transfusion (SIT) Sickle Cell Disease (SCD)
  • 2
WGS sequencing not planned
"Gladwin, Mark" <gladwinmt@upmc.edu>;
"Zhang, Yingze" <zhanyx@UPMC.EDU>
walk_PHaSST walk_PHaSST Treatment of Pulmonary Hypertension and Sickle Cell Disease with Sildenafil Therapy 597
  • 2
WGS phs001514
"Konkle, Barbara" <BarbaraK@BloodworksNW.org>;
"Johnsen, Jill" <JJohnsen@uw.edu>
MLOF MLOF My Life, Our Future: Genotyping for Progress in Hemophilia 2188 (ph2), 2959 (ph3)
  • 2
  • 3
WGS phs001515
"Meyers, Deborah A" <dameyers@email.arizona.edu>;
SARP SARP Severe Asthma Research Program 1900
  • 2
WGS phs001446
"He, Jiang" <jhe@tulane.edu>;
GenSalt GenSalt Genetic Epidemiology Network of Salt Sensitivity 1860
  • 2
WGS phs001217
"Smith, Nicholas" <nlsmith@u.washington.edu>;
VTE HVH VTE Heart and Vascular Health Study 637
  • 2
WGS phs000993
"Heckbert, Susan" <heckbert@uw.edu>;
VTE CHS VTE Cardiovascular Health Study 71
  • 2
WGS phs001368
"Boerwinkle, Eric" <Eric.Boerwinkle@uth.tmc.edu>;
VTE ARIC Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study VTE cohort 3937
  • 2
WGS phs001211
"de Andrade, Mariza" <mandrade@mayo.edu>;
VTE Mayo_VTE Mayo Clinic Venous Thromboembolism Study 1355
  • 2
WGS phs001402
"Rotter, Jerome" <jrotter@labiomed.org>;
AA_CAC MESAFam Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis Family cohort
  • 2
WGS phs001416
"Palmer, Nicholette" <nallred@wakehealth.edu>;
"Bowden, Donald W." <dbowden@wakehealth.edu>
AA_CAC DHS Diabetes Heart Study
  • 2
WGS phs001412
"Province, Mike" <mprovince@wustl.edu>;
"Lenzini, Petra" <plenzini@dsgmail.wustl.edu>
AA_CAC FamHS Family Heart Study
  • 2
WGS sequencing not planned
"Peyser, Patricia" <ppeyser@umich.edu>;
"Bielak, Larry" <lfbielak@umich.edu>
AA_CAC GENOA AA_CAC Genetic Epidemiology Network of Arteriopathy
  • 2
WGS phs001345
"Silverman, Edwin" <ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu>;
COPD EOCOPD Boston Early-Onset COPD Study 100
  • 1
WGS phs000946
"Albert, Christine" <CALBERT@mgh.harvard.edu>;
"Chasman, Daniel" <DCHASMAN@research.bwh.harvard.edu>
AFGen WGHS Women's Genome Health Study 118
  • 1
WGS phs001040
"Chung, Mina" <chungm@ccf.org>;
"Barnard, John" <barnarj@ccf.org>
AFGen CCAF Cleveland Clinic Atrial Fibrillation Study 365
  • 1
WGS phs001189
"Alonso, Alvaro" <alvaro.alonso@emory.edu>;
"Arking, Dan" <arking@jhmi.edu>
AFGen ARIC AFGen Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study 84
  • 1
WGS phs001211
"Benjamin, Emelia" <emelia@bu.edu>;
"Lunetta, Kathryn" <klunetta@bu.edu>
AFGen FHS AFGen Framingham Heart Study 111
  • 1
WGS phs000974
"Ellinor, Patrick" <ellinor@mgh.harvard.edu>;
AFGen MGH_AF Massachusetts General Hospital Atrial Fibrillation Study 688
  • 1
WGS phs001062
"Lubitz, Steven" <SLUBITZ@MGH.HARVARD.EDU>;
AFGen Partners Partners Healthcare Biorepository 128
  • 1
WGS phs001024
"Shoemaker, M. Benjamin" <moore.b.shoemaker@vanderbilt.edu>;
AFGen VAFAR Vanderbilt Atrial Fibrillation Ablation Registry 122
  • 1
WGS phs000997
"Darbar, Dawood" <darbar@uic.edu>;
AFGen VU_AF Vanderbilt Genetic Basis of Atrial Fibrillation 1157
  • 1
WGS phs001032
"Heckbert, Susan" <heckbert@uw.edu>;
AFGen HVH Heart and Vascular Health Study 79
  • 1
WGS phs000993
"Ashley-Koch, Allison" <allison.ashleykoch@duke.edu>;
"Telen, Marilyn" <marilyn.telen@duke.edu>
OMG_SCD OMG_SCD Outcome Modifying Genes in Sickle Cell Disease 675
  • 2
WGS phs001608
"Nekhai, Sergei" <snekhai@Howard.edu>;
PUSH_SCD PUSH_SCD Pulmonary Hypertension and the Hypoxic Response in Sickle Cell Disease 450
  • 2
WGS phs001682
"Sankaran, Vijay" <sankaran@broadinstitute.org>;
Boston-Brazil_SCD Boston-Brazil_SCD Boston-Brazil Collaborative Study of Sickle Cell Disease 958
  • 2
WGS phs001599
"Boerwinkle, Eric" <Eric.Boerwinkle@uth.tmc.edu>;
"Sheehan, Vivien" <vsheehan@bcm.edu>
PharmHU PharmHU The Pharmacogenomics of Hydroxyurea in Sickle Cell Disease 1454
  • 2
WGS phs001466
"Schwartz, David" <David.Schwartz@ucdenver.edu>;
"Fingerlin, Tasha" <fingerlint@njhealth.org>
IPF IPF Whole Genome Sequencing in Familial and Sporadic Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis 1500
  • 3
WGS phs001607
"Fornage, Myriam" <Myriam.Fornage@uth.tmc.edu>;
"Lloyd-Jones, Donald" <dlj@northwestern.edu>, "Fornage, Myriam" <Myriam.Fornage@uth.tmc.edu>;
"Hou, Lifang" <l-hou@northwestern.edu>
CARDIA CARDIA Coronary Artery Risk Development in Young Adults 3622WGS (ph3), 9480Methyl (ph5)
  • 3
  • 5
WGS, Methylomics phs001612
"Kaplan, Robert" <Robert.Kaplan@einstein.yu.edu>;
"North, Kari" <kari_north@unc.edu>
HCHS_SOL HCHS_SOL Hispanic Community Health Study - Study of Latinos 2270
  • 3
WGS phs001395
"Kumar, Rajesh" <rkumar@luriechildrens.org>;
ATGC CHIRAH Genetics Sub-Study of Chicago Initiative to Raise Asthma Health Equity 318
  • 3
WGS phs001605
"Hakonarson, Hakon" <hakonarson@email.chop.edu>;
ATGC GCPD-A Genetics of Complex Pediatric Disorders - Asthma 4000
  • 3
WGS phs001661
"Silverman, Edwin" <ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu>;
ECLIPSE ECLIPSE Evaluation of COPD Longitudinally to Identify Predictive Surrogate End-points 2400 (ph3)
  • 3
WGS phs001472
"Weiss, Scott" <scott.weiss@channing.harvard.edu>;
CRA_CAMP CAMP Childhood Asthma Management Program ???WGS (ph3), 1700Metab (ph5), 1700Methyl (ph5)
  • 3
  • 5
WGS, Metabolomics, Methylomics phs001726
"Williams, L. Keoki" <kwillia5@hfhs.org>;
ATGC SAPPHIRE_asthma Study of Asthma Phenotypes & Pharmacogenomic Interactions by Race-Ethnicity African American 4696, Mexican/Other Latino 236
  • 3
WGS phs001467
"Psaty, Bruce" <psaty@u.washington.edu>;
"Tracy, Russell" <Russell.Tracy@uvm.edu>
CHS CHS Cardiovascular Health Study 3600
  • 3
WGS phs001368
"Burchard, Esteban" <esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu>;
ATGC SAGE ATGC ATGC Study of African Americans, Asthma, Genes and Environment 2270
  • 3
  • 4
WGS phs000921
"Gilliland, Frank" <gillilan@usc.edu>;
ATGC ChildrensHS_IGERA Children's Health Study: Integrative Genomics and Environmental Research of Asthma 231
  • 3
WGS phs001603
"Burchard, Esteban" <esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu>;
ATGC GALAII ATGC ATGC Gene-Environment, Admixture and Latino Asthmatics Study II Asthma Mexican/Other Latino 2383, Puerto Rican 2519
  • 3
  • 4
WGS phs000920
"Burchard, Esteban" <esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu>;
ATGC GALAI ATGC Gene-Environment, Admixture and Latino Asthmatics Study I Asthma Mexican/Other Latino 465, Puerto Rican 620
  • 3
WGS phs001542
"Martinez, Fernando" <fdmartin@email.arizona.edu>;
ATGC CARE_CLIC Childhood Asthma Research and Education Network: Characterizing the Response to a Leuikotriene Receptor Agonis and an Inhaled Corticosteroid 219
  • 3
WGS phs001729
"Martinez, Fernando" <fdmartin@email.arizona.edu>;
ATGC PIMA Pathways to Immunologically Mediated Asthma 74
  • 3
WGS phs001727
"Barwick, Lucas" <lbarwick@emmes.com>;
LTRC LTRC Lung Tissue Research Consortium 1548WGS (ph4), 1648RNASeq (ph4), 3196Methyl (ph5)
  • 4
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Methylomics phs001662
"Gelb, Bruce" <bruce.gelb@mssm.edu>;
"Seidman, Christine " <cseidman@genetics.med.harvard.edu>
PCGC_CHD PCGC_CHD Pediatric Cardiac Genomics Consortium's Congenital Heart Disease Biobank 3230WGS (ph4), 308RNASeq (ph4)
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq phs001735
"Taylor, Matthew" <matthew.taylor@ucdenver.edu>;
"Mestroni, Luisa" <luisa.mestroni@ucdenver.edu>, "Taylor, Matthew" <matthew.taylor@ucdenver.edu>;
"Graw, Sharon" <sharon.graw@ucdenver.edu>
TOPCHeF TOPCHeF Trans-Omics for Precision Medicine for Congestive Heart Failure 1078RNASeq, 1078WGS
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq
"McManus, David" <mcmanusd@ummhc.org>;
AFGen miRhythm Defining time-dependent genetic and transcriptomic responses to cardiac injury among patients with arrhythmias
  • 1
WGS phs001434
"Mohanty, Sanghamitra" <mitra.mohanty@stdavids.com>;
"Natale, Andrea" <andrea.natale@stdavids.com>
AFGen DECAF Determining the association of chromosomal variants with non-PV triggers and ablation-outcome in DECAF
  • 1
WGS phs001546
"Fatkin, Diane" <d.fatkin@victorchang.edu.au>;
AFGen AustralianFamilialAF Molecular Mechanisms of Inherited Cardiomyopathies and Arrhythmias in the Australian Familial AF Study 120
  • 1
WGS phs001435
"Martinez, Fernando" <fdmartin@email.arizona.edu>;
ATGC CARE_PACT Childhood Asthma Research and Education Network: Pediatric Asthma Controller Trial
  • 3
WGS phs001730
"Martinez, Fernando" <fdmartin@email.arizona.edu>;
ATGC CARE_TREXA Childhood Asthma Research and Education Network: Treating Children to Prevent Exacerbations of Asthma
  • 3
WGS phs001732
"Martinez, Fernando" <fdmartin@email.arizona.edu>;
ATGC CARE_BADGER Childhood Asthma Research and Education Network: Best Add-on Therapy Giving Effective Responses
  • 3
WGS phs001728
"Gilliland, Frank" <gillilan@usc.edu>;
ATGC ChildrensHS_MetaAir Children's Health Study: Effects of Air Pollution on the Development of Obesity in Children
  • 3
WGS phs001604
"Gilliland, Frank" <gillilan@usc.edu>;
ATGC ChildrensHS_GAP Children's Health Study: Integrative Genetic Approaches to Gene-Air Pollution Interactions in Asthma
  • 3
WGS phs001602
"Williams, Scott" <smw154@case.edu>;
Africa7K GHAT Ghana Arterial Thrombosis
  • 4
WGS
"Williams, Scott" <smw154@case.edu>;
Africa7K GHAT-R Ghana Arterial Thrombosis rural
  • 4
WGS
"Saleheen, Danish" <saleheen@pennmedicine.upenn.edu>;
PROMIS PROMIS Pakistan Risk of Myocardial Infarction Study 4,211 (WGS ph4), 3,750 (WGS ph+ TOPMed & CCDG co-funded)
  • 4
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001569
"Meyers, Deborah A" <dameyers@email.arizona.edu>;
SPIROMICS SPIROMICS SubPopulations and InteRmediate Outcome Measures In COPD Study 2981 WGS, 5253 RNAseq
  • 4
WGS, RNASeq
"Sinner, Mortiz" <Moritz.Sinner@med.uni-muenchen.de>;
"Kaab, Stefan" <stefan.kaab@med.uni-muenchen.de>
AFGen AFLMU Atrial Fibrillation Biobank Ludwig Maximilian University Study 248 co-funded, 102 phase 2.5
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001543
"Smith, Gustav" <gustav@broadinstitute.org>;
AFGen MPP Malmo Preventative Project 250WGS (ph5)
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001544
"Cutler, Michael" <Michael.Cutler@imail.org>;
"Knight, Stacey" <stacey.knight@imail.org>
AFGen INSPIRE_AF Intermountain Heart Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001545
"Christophersen, Ingrid Elisabeth" <uxchia@vestreviken.no>;
AFGen GENAF The GENetics in Atrial Fibrillation Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001547
"Nazarian, Saman" <Saman.Nazarian@uphs.upenn.edu>;
AFGen JHU_AF The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Atrial Fibrillation Genetics Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001598
"Kraus , William" <william.kraus@duke.edu>;
"Sun, Albert" <albert.sun@duke.edu>
AFGen CATHGEN The Duke CATHeterization GENetics Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001600
"Rader, Daniel" <rader@mail.med.upenn.edu>;
"Damrauer, Scott" <Scott.Damrauer@uphs.upenn.edu>
AFGen PMBB_AF Early-onset Atrial Fibrillation in the Penn Medicine BioBank Cohort
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001601
"Esko, Tonu" <tesko@broadinstitute.org>;
AFGen EGCUT Estonian Genome Center 2900WGS
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001606
"Marcus, Gregory" <Greg.Marcus@ucsf.edu>;
AFGen UCSF_AF UCSF_AF
  • Other Funding
WGS
"Rienstra, Michiel" <m.rienstra@umcg.nl>;
AFGen GGAF Groningen Genetics of Atrial Fibrillation Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001725
"Shoemaker, M. Benjamin" <moore.b.shoemaker@vanderbilt.edu>;
"Roden, Dan" <dan.roden@vumc.org>
AFGen BioVU_AF The Vanderbilt University BioVU Atrial Fibrillation Genetics Study
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001624
"Loos, Ruth" <ruth.loos@mssm.edu>;
"Kenny, Eimear" <eimear.kenny@mssm.edu>
AFGen BioMe AFGen Mount Sinai BioMe Biobank
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001644
"Sherman, Stephanie" <ssherma@emory.edu>;
DS_CHD DS_CHD Down Syndrome Associated Atrioventricular Septal Defects: New Omic Resources WGS
"Mathias, Rasika" <rmathias@jhmi.edu>;
AA_CAC GeneSTAR AA_CAC Genetic Studies of Atherosclerosis Risk African American families, European families
  • 2
WGS phs001218
"Vasan, Ramachandran S." <vasan@bu.edu>;
"Cupples, L. Adrienne" <adrienne@bu.edu>
FHS FHS Framingham Heart Study 4089WGS (ph1), 1861RNASeq (ph5), 3400Metab (ph5), 1900Methyl (ph5) 3 generation EA pedigrees
  • 1
  • 5
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Methylomics phs000974
"Correa, Adolfo" <acorrea@umc.edu>;
"Wilson, James" <jwilson8@bidmc.harvard.edu>
JHS JHS Jackson Heart Study 3500 AA mixed family and population based
  • 1
WGS phs000964
"Redline, Susan" <sredline1@rics.bwh.harvard.edu>;
CFS CFS Cleveland Family Study - WGS Collaboration 1000 African American
  • 1
WGS phs000954
"Burchard, Esteban" <esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu>;
PGX_Asthma SAGE Study of African Americans, Asthma, Genes and Environment 490 African American
  • 1
  • Other Funding
WGS phs000921
"Montgomery, Courtney" <Courtney-Montgomery@omrf.org>;
Sarcoidosis Sarcoidosis Genetics of Sarcoidosis in African Americans 650 African American families
  • 2
WGS phs001207
"Arnett, Donna K" <donna.arnett@uky.edu>;
HyperGEN_GENOA HyperGEN Hypertension Genetic Epidemiology Network African American families
  • 2
WGS phs001293
"Kardia, Sharon" <skardia@umich.edu>;
"Smith, Jennifer" <smjenn@umich.edu>
HyperGEN_GENOA GENOA Genetic Epidemiology Network of Arteriopathy African American families
  • 2
WGS phs001345
"Mathias, Rasika" <rmathias@jhmi.edu>;
GeneSTAR GeneSTAR Genetic Studies of Atherosclerosis Risk 1400 African American families, European families
  • 2
  • Other Funding
WGS phs001218
"Silverman, Edwin" <ed.silverman@channing.harvard.edu>;
COPD COPDGene Genetic Epidemiology of COPD Study 1885 (ph1), 7400 (ph2), 1000 (ph3), 800RNA (ph4), 11,500Methyl (ph5) African American, non-Hispanic White
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Other Funding
WGS, RNASeq, Methylomics phs000951
"Barnes, Kathleen" <Kathleen.Barnes@UCDenver.edu>;
BAGS BAGS New Approaches for Empowering Studies of Asthma in Populations of African Descent - Barbados Asthma Genetics Study 1100 African descent Barbados families with >40% of asthmatic members
  • 1
WGS phs001143
"Custer, Brian" <BCuster@vitalant.org>;
"Kelly, Shannon" <skelly@vitalant.org>
REDS-III_Brazil REDS-III_Brazil Recipient Epidemiology and Donor Evaluation Study-III 2809 Brazilian
  • 2
WGS phs001468
"Weiss, Scott" <scott.weiss@channing.harvard.edu>;
CRA_CAMP CRA The Genetic Epidemiology of Asthma in Costa Rica - Asthma in Costa Rica cohort 1300WGS (ph1), 1300Metab (ph5), 1300Methyl (ph5) Costa Rica is a Special Hispanic population with asthma prevalence at 24%
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5
WGS, Metabolomics, Methylomics phs000988
"Arnett, Donna K" <donna.arnett@uky.edu>;
GOLDN GOLDN Genetics of Lipid Lowering Drugs and Diet Network 967 European families
  • 2
WGS phs001359
"Burchard, Esteban" <esteban.burchard@ucsf.edu>;
PGX_Asthma GALAII Gene-Environment, Admixture and Latino Asthmatics Study 994 Latino
  • 1
  • Other Funding
WGS phs000920
"Blangero, John" <john.blangero@utrgv.edu>;
"Curran, Joanne" <joanne.curran@utrgv.edu>
SAFS SAFS Whole Genome Sequencing to Identify Causal Genetic Variants Influencing CVD Risk - San Antonio Family Studies 1142 Mexican American in SAFHS extended pedigrees
  • 1
WGS phs001215
"Rotter, Jerome" <jrotter@labiomed.org>;
"Rich, Stephen" <ssr4n@virginia.edu>
MESA MESA Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis 4595 multi-ethnic populations
  • 2
WGS, RNASeq, Metabolomics, Proteomics, Methylomics phs001416
"Mitchell, Braxton D." <bmitchel@som.umaryland.edu>;
Amish Amish Genetics of Cardiometabolic Health in the Amish 1100 Old Order Amish large extended pedigrees
  • 1
WGS phs000956
"McGarvey, Stephen" <stephen_mcgarvey@brown.edu>;
SAS SAS Samoan Adiposity Study 384 (ph1), 912 (ph2) Samoan
  • 1
  • 2
WGS phs000972
"Rao, D.C." <rao@wustl.edu>;
"Chen, Yii-Der Ida" <ichen@labiomed.org>
THRV THRV Taiwan Study of Hypertension using Rare Variants 2585 Taiwan Chinese families
  • 2
WGS phs001387